Weekly Progress & Goals [19]

I would have to say that this week was really productive…READING wise! YAY! I don’t know what happened, but just in the last 3 days, I’ve knocked out like 4 books. ALL CONTEMPORARY, what is wrong with me? haha.

I finished them all but I think I really only LOVED one. Altogether, I read 5 books total. The first being The Isle of the Lost….see non spoiler review here. BUT, I also started a book that I’ve yet to finish. After finishing challenge 6, I jumped into challenge 7…..This Savage Song. I am LIKING IT, but because I am currently in a kindle book phase [because it really is hard to read actual books sometimes…], I haven’t really made much progress. I like what I’ve read [although I am a bit confused also…], so I am really hoping to make an effort this week.

After that came The Vixen & The Vet, WHICH I ABSOLUTELY LOVED. Which you can probably tell if you read this.

My 2nd non favorite book was By Your Side…..which I want to write a review for, but since I read PS I Like You IMMEDIATELY after, both written by Kasie West…I am not totally sure I can write reviews for either and keep facts straight. I have come to the conclusion that West is not for me. I love the plots just fine……but there is a certain element to her writing that I just don’t like. I can’t seem to pinpoint exactly what it is, but since I have read quite a few of her books, it is definitely something with the way she writes. Like I said, I love the story line….not just the random, added in drama. By Your Side was about a girl stuck in the library, I thought it was okay……I gave PS I Like You a higher rating [4 stars, I gave BYS 3….], not necessarily because I liked it more, but because it had a You’ve Got Mail vibe and that is my favorite movie. The writing problem still existed, but it wasn’t as annoying as I thought it was in BYS. I think whatever my problem is with her writing is why I say I don’t like contemporary.

AND, on that note, apparently I’ve been in a contemporary mood………ADULT Contemporary is really not bad though. I have problems with the YA contemporary because its high school drama and annoying teenagers, so thats more of a miss than a hit for me….but I’ve really never had any problem with adult contemporary. Like TV&TV, I loved that book.

Anyway, after those books, I jumped back into a book that I had read a chapter of last week. It is called Lose Me, by M.C. Frank. I am going to try and write a review for it later – I think I am definitely getting better at writing reviews! – so I don’t want to say too much about it now.


I am not really sure if I can have as much of a productive week this week as I did last week…..but I do think I will be knocking out more contemporary. I also would really like to finish This Savage Song before the end of the month….so I am going to work hard at sitting down and reading it.

This week, I really want to get out and take more photos too. It has been kind of crappy this week, but the sun did come out for a little while yesterday, so I got some much needed photos of my Blood for Blood trilogy. I AM SO SUPER HAPPY THAT THEY ARE ALL FINALLY HERE. I seriously want to drop everything and reread them, even though I just read them a month ago, haha.

I am going to get to some reviews this week too. I don’t remember if I said, but my husband bought me a new laptop a couple weeks ago, and it has been really nice being able to sit down and write and plan. The desktop is in the bedroom, and since I don’t generally hang out there during the day, it is hard to go in there with a VERY VERY VERY active [now] 9 month old, and at night, I feel like the tapping on the keyboard is too loud and might wake my husband up…..so, now when L is finally down for the night, I can just grab my laptop and sit and relax in the dining room.

Speaking of planning, have you seen June‘s photo challenge yet? 🙂


Well, if I had anything else to say, I have forgotten……it is now 8:20 AM, and I’ve been up for about 2 hours……after staying up late to read. I think I am going to go back to sleep now. Sleep is good. Sleep is amazing.

I hope everyone has an amazing week! tell me below what you’re planning to read.

~Ash

currently reading:
This Savage Song

current tunes:
the fish tank [filter], that desperately needs water.

Leave a Reply

