Once Upon A Time…. [non spoiler]

THE VIXEN & THE VET [Kate Regnery]
Published
June 15, 2014
295 pages
Contemporary Romance

I read this via kindle. I actually forgot I owned it since I had bought it a few months ago. I kept hearing how good it was, and that it was a modern day Beauty & The Beast retelling….yep! I was all over it. I definitely give it 5 stars. It had its flaws, but its so rare that I find books that I have a hard time putting down these days.

The thing about surviving something truly tragic is that it changes your expectations forever. You make do with very little. You’re grateful for crumbs. You make the best of small mercies. You endure large trials. You understand that life owes you nothing. You expect nothing, and when something wonderful happens, you don’t trust it. You know it can’t possibly last.

This is definitely a standalone book, but it is part of a [standalone] series of modern day fairy tales written by the author. I’ve read one other one [a Hansel & Gretel retelling], and although I did like it, I liked this one much more.

In this modern-retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Savannah Carmichael, betrayed by an unreliable source, returns to her hometown of Danvers, Virginia with her once-promising journalism career in ruins. Given the opportunity to get back in the game by writing a patriotic human interest piece, Savannah turns her attention to the town hermit, Asher Lee, a wounded veteran who returned to Danvers eight years ago, and hasn’t been seen since.” Goodreads

I really, really, really loved this book. The writing was amazing, and I’d say the unputdownable rating was a solid 4/5. And really, who doesn’t love a good fairy tale retelling? I actually really liked that it was a disable vet, it made it seem 1000000 times more realistic. The southern aspect was fun too. I can just imagine Asher saying “darlin” and I swoooooon. BUT! For real, it was funny when it was supposed to be, it was heartbreaking when it was supposed to be, and man, oh man, was it downright sexy when it was supposed to be. *fans self*.

I really loved all the characters. Savannah had her moments, but overall, she was a great “Belle” character. AND ASHER……………….Asher Lee……isn’t that such a lovely name? He was a great character, and his POV bits were my favorite. Well, there was that one asshole……….the Gaston-ish character. I did NOT love him, not one bit. He gave me the creeps. So, I guess he was written correctly, haha.

So…..Savannah……she did and did NOT respond to situations ‘correctly’, up until the end I wanted to give her a good smack. The reasoning for having to meet Asher was okay, but then it went sideways from there….and I KNEW, I KNEW IT WOULD BE AWFUL. Just thinking about it makes me all upset….it resolved itself nicely though. I was worried for a while, but I think it ended the way it was supposed to.

It is kind of hard to pinpoint any specific ‘interesting’ thing other than the male character is a military veteran with severe injuries. I read some, but not a TON of contemporary romance, so I can’t say if this stands out in the genre, but it was definitely like nothing I’ve read before, therefore it was a unique story to me.

As it is with all books……there of course, were plenty of parts that could have been left out….like every scene with Savannah’s sister, Katie Scarlet [cool name though, perfect for the southern belle she is, anyone else know where it is from?]. I really couldn’t stand her. AND, although she did have a couple good lines here and there, I really didn’t see why she was important to the story overall.

All in all, I loved this very awesome beauty and the beast tale, and I can definitely see myself not only rereading it at some point, but buying the paperback sometime down the road so I can have it on my shelves and show it off more on IG.

~Ash

So, I’ve written a couple reviews so far, I am enjoying them, but what does everyone else think?

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Weekly Progress & Goals [19] | Our Book & Bookish Thoughts

Leave a Reply

