Rotten To The Core [non spoiler]

ISLE OF THE LOST [Melissa de la Cruz]
Middle Grade Fantasy
320 Pages – read via kindle.

This is the first book in, I want to say a TRILOGY. I could be wrong on that though. I am kind of confused wih the books, I read the back of book 2 [through Goodreads], and it made it seem like they had already been off the island and were coming back [hence the name “Return to the Isle of the Lost”] but in THIS book, they never left the island.

Twenty years ago, all the evil villains were banished from the kingdom of Auradon and made to live in virtual imprisonment on the Isle of the Lost. The island is surrounded by a magical force field that keeps the villains and their descendants safely locked up and away from the mainland. Life on the island is dark and dreary. It is a dirty, decrepit place that’s been left to rot and forgotten by the world.” Goodreads

I was actually not a fan of the writing style…..or the book in general. It definitely was middle grade, but I wanted to read it because I actually enjoy the cheesiness that is Disney’s Descendants…..This is NOTHING like the book though. I knew it obviously wouldn’t be a musical [even though thats probably my favorite part…], but I probably would have known that if I had read the back [I didn’t, I never do.] I thought thought it was all rather silly….I doubt I will read on in the series. It really was too juvenile for me.

The book was really dragged out., there was also scenes that took place in Aurodon that could have probably been left out. None of it seemed important for this book since the villains never left the Island. I wouldn’t really say it was important back story for later. The plot was uninteresting, and just because they were “evil” didn’t mean everything had to be so gross. It wasn’t done HORRIBLY, but it basically glorified bullying. Not in the obvious way like in books meant for older people, teenagers that should know better [but don’t]. I don’t know how to explain it…..I am sure if I recommended it to my mom’s 9 year old he would wonder why they were being so mean, but other’s might think it’s a good way to act….So it probably isn’t a book to recommend to EVERYONE.

I was comparing the characters to those in the movie, so I honestly couldn’t tell you if I even liked ANY of the characters. I didn’t dislike anyone per se…….but I didn’t really feel any connection with anyone. Even if I didn’t like how they responded to situations, I guess it was realistically enough for villains….

I am sitting here trying to find something interesting to talk about, but I honestly can’t think of anything. To me this was JUST a book. I didn’t have any high runnng emotions, I wasn’t at the edge of my seat anxious about what was going to happen next….MAYBE if I was apart of the target audience I would think differently….maybe.

I really couldn’t say how this differed from other MG fantasy, or even Middle Grade in general…..I haven’t read a whole lot from that genre….maybe the fact that it is written about the villains.

I would definitely not read this book again….or read on in the series. It is a quick read, that is for sure….but other than that, if you aren’t a kid just getting into reading, this most likely isn’t for you.

~Ash

Currently Reading:
This Savage Song [33/427]
By Your Side [8%]
The Vixen & The Vet [43/291]

Current Tunes:
Liam Fussing…..

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Weekly Progress & Goals [19] | Our Book & Bookish Thoughts

Leave a Reply

