Lex Malla, Lex Nulla [non spoiler]

Lady Midnight [Cassandra Clare]
Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy
Published: March 8, 2016
698 Pages – I started reading my hardcover copy, but then transitioned to Kindle to make it easier.

Lex Malla, Lex Nulla – A bad law is no law.Blackthorn family motto.

This is the first book in Clare’s THIRD Shadowhunters series – The Dark Artifices.
It takes place about five years after The Mortal Instruments ended, and the main characters are secondary characters from the last book in that series.

I don’t think you necessarily need to have read the previous series to enjoy this, but it probably would help for some major backstory. I would certainly recommend it be read before starting this series.

When the bodies of humans and faeries turn up murdered in the same way Emma’s parents were when she was a child, an uneasy alliance is formed. This is Emma’s chance for revenge—and Julian’s chance to get back his brother Mark, who is being held prisoner by the faerie Courts. All Emma, Mark, and Julian have to do is solve the murders within two weeks…and before the murderer targets them. – taken from the synopsis from Goodreads.

I have never really had any problem with Clare’s writing style. I think she is a talented writer, who knows how to weave a good story. I DO think, she tends to drone on at times. As for this book, I feel like it dragged on in some parts, and I feel like it sped through some other things. The whole book takes place in a matter of 2 weeks [or less….], and its 700 pages.

The plot……….I liked the main story line of the book. There was a bit of mystery surrounding it, and that part was definitely good. But I felt like the level of drama was a bit high, and it took over a fair amount of the pages. This book did not need to be so long, I feel if the drama had been cut in half, I would have rated it higher than the 3 stars I gave it. In my opinion, it started out strong, but it wasn’t until the last third of the book that I really enjoyed it.

I liked a few attributes of all the characters, but I don’t really feel like I connected with any of them. I didn’t really like either of the main characters, I guess if I had to choose anyone, it would be the children, although as much as I thought they were considered ‘main characters’, they weren’t really the focal point. Would have liked to have had more of them, but Clare decided to concentrate more on people who I thought were lesser characters.

Like I said, I didn’t really care for Emma, I liked Julian slightly more, but they probably were not my favorite “Main Characters”. I think they both reacted incredibly unrealistic to most situations that took place in the book, and that might have added to my dislike of them.

Although I didn’t care for the personal details of the main characters, the mystery surrounding the murders was entertaining. I thought that aspect of the story was well done, for sure, I just wish it had taken up MORE of the book. I should have guessed how it ended, but I am pleased to say it wasn’t so predictable, that I even thought to guess how it ended until we got there.

It is rare when you can find a ya book original….some parts were original, but I felt like all the drama and stuff that was present, has all been done before. Even recycled from her previous books, in a way. I feel like a LOT of the drama could have easily been removed, and you’d still have a good story line. I don’t really get why authors sometimes feel like they need to have their book be bigger than their last, as I feel like when they do that, they just add a ton of unnecessary things. I won’t go into them because of potential spoilers, though.

This week was not my week for reading. I read this one, and another book, and I couldn’t get into either. I put this one down for days, and I actually had to keep talking myself into picking it back up. It wasn’t until I picked it up again last night that I was able to finish it. It wasn’t awful, by any means, but I don’t know…..I am just over the shadowhunter world, I think. I am not sure I would reread this one, part of me says no, and part of me wonders if I might like it more the 2nd time around. I know for sure that I am in no hurry to read the sequel, Lord of Shadows, that releases later this month.

All in all, this was a solid 3 stars for me. I am in no hurry for the sequel, or for any shadowhunter books. I think I’ve exhausted myself on the author.

~Ash

Leave a Reply

