I have no respect for your authority

The Blood for Blood trilogy by Catherine Doyle.
Vendetta [2015]
Inferno [2016]
Mafiosa [2017]

THIS IS A SPOILER FREE REVIEW!!

I would have to say that this is a YA Contemporary, but its not your normal high school angst. Think…..

Romeo & Juliet meets The Godfather.

I came across Vendetta back in 2014, I think it is one of those books I found on Goodreads, before it’s publication date…you know, the ones that sit in the “unreleased” shelf category forever. I ordered it when it came out and I don’t even think I let a day go by before I read it….and I read it in one sitting. I absolutely loved book one, and I could NOT wait for book two. But I had to, because it had a January 2016 release date…..and then January rolled around, and I was confused why reviews were rolling in when it wasn’t available on Amazon……and then I realized what had happened, it had been released, but NOT in the States….so I waited the year that it said it would be, and now its 2017….book 2 has STILL not been released, and you can buy book 3, but not in Hardcover format.

Want to know how I read books 2 and 3 when they haven’t been released here? The internet. I found book two online. Did I want to read it online? no. I did anyway though….and IT WAS FANTASTIC. It was even BETTER than book one. Usually book 2 sucks so much. BUUUT this was amazing. And I didn’t want to buy book 3 if I couldn’t buy book 2, so I read that one online too. THE FEELS. THE FEELS GOT ME SO HARD. Anyway! so, before I looked to see if I could read it online [because you guys can seriously not know how freaking into book one I was, and how sad I was when I couldn’t read it last year], I looked at those book sites everyone is always talking about, and I found book three, but not book two….not at all helpful! so then I did the very bad act of reading it online. NO APOLOGIES. If I can buy it, I will GLADLY pay for it, I DO own 460ish books. I have no problem spending money. Anyway, when I was getting into book three, I tried ONE MORE time, and I don’t know if I just missed it or what, BUT ALL THREE were there in PAPERBACK on Book Depository…No, I didn’t want paperback, because book one is hardcover, buuuuuuut they were so nicely priced and with the free shipping, AND THE FACT THAT THESE BOOKS ARE FREAKING AMAZING, I just bought them, all three of them. No, I didn’t need Vendetta, but now they all match, and I can send Vendetta to my bestie ❤

I am seriously so excited to get them. I am doing 5 challenges in May on Instagram, annnnd blood for blood will be in a ton of those photos, I can tell you that right now!

“This life is so complex that we rarely get to be the people we are truly meant to be. Instead, we wear masks and put up walls to keep from dealing with the fear of rejection, the feeling of regret, the very idea that someone may not love us for who we are deep in our core. That they might not understand the things that drive us.” – Vendetta

When it comes to revenge, love is a dangerous complication.With a fierce rivalry raging between two warring families, falling in love is the deadliest thing Sophie could do. An epic debut set outside modern-day Chicago.” – this is part of the summary for the book given on Goodreads.

I definitely do not think it does justice for this trilogy as a whole. Blood for Blood is exactly that, vengeful and bloody. Happy moments are few, so if you want a quick, easy read with flowers and unicorns…..turn away now.


I thought this was a really well written series. I thought the progression was well done. The characters all had their personalities and they came alive in my head. I felt with Sophie, I laughed with her and Millie, I cried, I felt their frustration, and anger, and I definitely wanted to toss the book a few times because the emotions were definitely high, both in the book and in my own mind.

I really loved the story line…it is quite unusual, and I’ve never heard of a CONTEMPORARY YA being so violent and angry. You weren’t just TOLD they wanted revenge, you weren’t just seeing the words, you got to be there, to experience it. It was pretty freaking awesome. Who doesn’t love a good ol’ Romeo & Juliet story?? And who wouldn’t want The Godfather for teenagers?

Just kidding! I’ve never seen The Godfather, but I know it well enough to say I am sad they didn’t mention cannoli! [Thanks You’ve Got Mail!]


Like I said, I was happy with how the characters all stood out in their own way. I like how they were brought to life, and not just names on paper.

The main characters here are Sophie, a teenager living on the outskirts of Chicago. You meet her mom, and you realize that her father, a restaurant owner is in prison for shooting someone in self defense.

Millie, Millie is her coworker at the diner, and her best [and only] friend in the world. I ABSOLUTELY loved Millie. She was funny, and she was so supportive! I think everyone who meets her, wishes they had a friend like her. If I had to say who I related to the most, it would definitely be her.

The other main characters are Sophie’s uncle, who takes care of her and her mother in her father’s absence. And the 5 brothers who move into the creepy house that she walks by every day. And later on you meet THEIR uncle, and even later, more members of the family.

Two of the brothers stick out the most, and I think you will have to read it to form your own opinions on them.

It is a toss up on who the most hated character is…..One is a scared little nobody who wants to be everything, who does what they can to protect themselves, and the other is just a creepy asshole. And that’s BEFORE we get to book two…..

I would definitely have to say this was a book where you could connect with the characters. I said above that I definitely felt their love and hate and all that lies between.

If I had to point out ONE interesting thing about this series, I would have to say that I love how different it is from anything in the YA category. I read the Ruthless People series a couple years ago, and this trilogy reminded me of the PG 13 version of that [very much] rated R version, but not totally, this had many twists and differences. I didn’t see MOST of what came to happen, and I really love that in books. I was so engrossed. I know I had to wait to get my hands on 2 and 3, but i read 1 and 2 in one sitting. The 2nd time I read 1, I had a lot going on, so it took a few days, but once I could sit down and I read, I flew. I started book 2 around midnight [right after finishing 1], and I read until around 230 when I JUST HAD TO SLEEP….well, I woke up 2 hours later, and ended up reading until 830, when I finished it. It was so good! UGH! If I haven’t mentioned it yet, GO READ THIS SERIES!

[So, if you missed my last review, you saw that I posted “questionnaire” style questions to answer, I am doing that HERE too, but I am deleting the questions as I answer them….so if it seems like I am jumping around, that is why.]

I think, like any books, there are always “unnecessary” parts, and usually that bugs me, and I find my eyes wandering, but I really did enjoy this trilogy in its entirety. I guess the one unnecessary part is one I can’t mention because of spoilers….so, go read it, and we can talk 🙂

Back to Sophie…..responding to situations, I think in the beginning she was a bit on the slow side….but I think that it really helps you see how drastic her character changes throughout the story. I won’t call this a “coming of age” story, but she definitely comes into her own. I really liked her character, not at ALL times, but even just admitting I like her means a lot, because I usually don’t care for the female lead. CD did a fantastic job writing her character, ALL characters, actually.

This is definitely a series I plan on rereading again [and probably even again this year, haha]. And I want to recommend it to everyone! but I know everyone has those genres they love or hate…..if you don’t mind extreme violence, and death….if you don’t mind bad boys who may or may not be what they seem…..if you don’t mind tragedy and laughs….definitely give this a go! I think this is a severely underhyped series, so go read it! and spread the word.

I will say, that….I did and did not like the ending…..I really wanted more, but when it really came down to it….I realize that the way we experienced the ending, was the way Sophie did. Some authors try to write the future, but…you don’t get that in real life. The story ends on the last page for Sophie….the story is written JUST in Sophie’s perspective, so the fate of anyone else in the story, if it wasn’t told before the end….remains unknown….like in real life. So I guess I will just….sit here and wonder what happened after the book ended.

Is there any book like that for you? where you finished the last book and you just….kept the story going in your head? the might have beens, the what ifs? I think if that happens, it means that it really was that amazing.


I think I might be getting better at these review things. I hope you enjoyed this as much as I did writing it. If you have read this, please let me know! I need someone to fangirl with. And if you happen to get these books based off my EXTREME LOVE OF IT, I want to know that too!!!

~Ash

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Weekly Progress & Goals [19] | Our Book & Bookish Thoughts

  2. Pingback: W&G [16] & April Wrap Up | Our Book & Bookish Thoughts

Leave a Reply

