Weekly Progress & Goals [14]

Every Sunday, I am going to try to write an update on what I read the previous week, and how my current reads are coming along, and what I hope to accomplish that week.


So when I wrote the last one of these on Monday, I stated I had already read a book. I finished and loved A Place in the Sun by RS. Grey! I really do adore her books. I haven’t gotten to the other ones on my kindle, but I definitely hope to sooner rather than later. Especially since I checked them out with Kindle Unlimited, and you can only borrow 10 books at any given time. Has anyone read and Grey books??? which has been your favorite??

I read that in just a few hours, and after that I literally could not figure out what I felt like reading. I decided to read a quickie book that I’ve owned for many, many, many years. I think the last time I read it was when I was about 13 or 14. The Edge on the Sword by Rebecca Tingle. I don’t remember how I came across this book, but I got it a long time ago..and I remember really loving it. I probably loved it less now than my preteen self did a million years ago, but it was still a good story. Yay for Nostalgia!

Tuesday night after I had wrote last weeks post, or maybe it was before I had wrote it……I remembered that Cinder and Ella: Happily Ever After had released! I was super excited. It was supposed to come out in February, but it got delayed 2 months. Luckily the time went by quickly and IT IS OUT NOW. I jumped into it almost immediately, annnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnd……I didn’t like it. UGH! OH MY GOSH. Cinder and Ella has been one of my top 5 favorite books since I stumbled across it a couple years ago. I have seriously read it like 5 times. THAT BOOK IS EVERYTHING, and I could barely stand reading the first half of the sequel. Ella somehow ended up being whiny and eye roll worthy. AND BRIAN, ugh, don’t even get me started on him. I couldn’t stand him, I couldn’t stand any of them. It was slightly redeemed by the end, but I wish there hadn’t been a sequel.

I decided to reread Vendetta by Catherine Doyle. I managed to get a copy of the sequel [that wasn’t released here in the states for some reason], for my kindle, so I wanted to reread the first one since its been a couple years. I am enjoying it, but maybe not as much as the first time around. I admit I haven’t had a ton of time to read recently. As my son as gotten older [he will be 8 months old tomorrow], he has gotten much more active, which is to be expected….so I think the times of watching him sleep while I get some reading in are definitely over for now. Any reading I’ve done this past week has been late at night when he’s finally gone to sleep….and usually by that time I’m so exhausted, and sleep is much more important than reading these days. He used to sleep in late, and now he gets up early.


Three and half books isn’t bad! I honestly can’t decide what I want to read though. Vendetta is fine, and once I am done with that, I want to jump into Inferno, buuuuuut other than that….literally nothing sounds appealing to me. I SENSE A SLUMP COMING. Hopefully I can get past it, because slumps suck and when I fall into them, I tend to be in them for a long time.

I think this week I am going to leave it with finishing Vendetta and reading Inferno. That sounds like a good plan. I am actually hoping I don’t like it….because then I have to figure out how to get a hold of book three……Ugh.

I usually fight slumps with rereads, but I JUST read two of my go to’s, and IDK, I really just have no clue what I am in the mood for. I think that is part of the reason I am not really enjoying anything I read. SEND HELP!

Oh well, I guess it wouldn’t hurt to not read for a few days….I have blog posts to catch up on, I have a MAY PHOTO CHALLENGE to figure out, Usually I’m either done, or almost done by now….I hadn’t even started to think about it until a couple days ago, truthfully. I almost don’t want to do one, take a step back from Bookstagram, but I don’t want to lose momentum on those. I have a great following for the photo challenges, and I’d really hate to lose that. So I think that is my task tonight….sit down and figure out song titles….and then the challenges to go with them.

I also haven’t taken any photos for a few days because it has either been to crazy to get outside for a little bit, or its been cloudy and overcast. BUUUUT, I have like 30 photos on my phone, so I am pretty much okay, haha. Do you stock up on pretaken photos or do you do the daily thing? I usued to do the daily thing, but since I used my camera instead of my phone, it is infinitely easier to make up a list of photos I need to take, and then just take those photos. SOMETIMES, I will do the daily thing, but that is usually if I forgot to take a photo I needed for that specific day. I definitely need a sunny day this week though, because I am almost out of pretakes for the challenge.


Has anyone seen the movie Passengers? my husband and I watched it last night….I thought it was okay, it wasn’t AMAZING, but it was entertaining. I kept comparing it to Titanic though….and I wanted more of an ending…

Also, non book related….I have the song Evermore stuck in my head. WHY IS IT SO AMAZING!?!?! I really need to watch that movie again. When it gets released on DVD, I am seriously going to just watch it on repeat….forever…..All day, every day! OH, haha that reminds me…theres a clip from some late night show of the host and Josh Gad, Luke Evans and Dan Stevens doing scenes of the movie on a crosswalk during red lights…I believe in Los Angeles, GO LOOK IT UP if you haven’t seen it yet, it is so freaking hilarious.

I think that is it, my son is losing patience and I have so much to do before I can sit down and read….or find song titles….since that is what I said I was going to do………I REALLY WILL TRY AND GET SHELF SIX DONE TONIGHT….or tomorrow. I am making it a priority…..after my son, so, I guess it depends on him…..

OKAY, less patient now….so I definitely need to go. I hope everyone has an amazing week. If you did anything for Easter, let me know in the comments! We spent yesterday at my mom’s house, but my car is in the shop getting some work done, so I wasn’t able to attend church with my mom and the family today. Next year will be more fun because L will be more mobile, yay!

~Ash

Current Read:
Vendetta [96/343]

Current Song:
Divisionary – Do the Right Thing [Ages & Ages]

Leave a Reply

