The world is alive with words…

I am taking another shot at writing a [non spoiler] book review. I haven’t quite gotten my ‘questionnaire’ thing down, but with the help of Ryley (@_queenofthebooks_) & Ruth (@bookishruth), I think I have a pretty good start….If anyone has anything to add in, please let me know!


BOOK DETAILS: [Title, Author, Genre, Publication, read format]
The Bird & The Sword is written by Amy Harmon. She has written quite a few books, but this is my first. I believe she mainly writes contemporary romance novels, but I would say this is Fantasy, aimed at young adults.

This was released in May 2016. Sadly, I only just heard of it a couple weeks ago. A huge thank you to Liz & Milana for introducing me to this world! I don’t know if I ever would have come across it without them. I read this in Kindle format, but I definitely want to buy the paperback version so I can show it off on Instagram and get this beautiful book more spotlight.

STAND ALONE OR PART OF A SERIES?
Although this is titled as “book one”, I believe this is a standalone. Book two, due out in May 2017, looks to be about a secondary character from this book. I am excited about that book, titled “The Queen & The Cure”, but am less excited knowing that Lark won’t be the main character.

MEMORABLE QUOTE:
“Swallow, Daughter, pull them in, those words that sit upon your lips. Lock them deep inside your soul, hide them ‘til they’ve time to grow. Close your mouth upon the power, curse not, cure not, ‘til the hour. You won’t speak and you won’t tell, you won’t call on heav’n or hell. You will learn and you will thrive. Silence, Daughter. Stay alive.

SHORT SUMMARY
“The day my mother was killed, she told my father I wouldn’t speak again, and she told him if I died, he would die too. Then she predicted the king would trade his soul and lose his son to the sky.
My father has a claim to the throne, and he is waiting in the shadows for all of my mother’s words to come to pass. He wants desperately to be king, and I just want to be free.
But freedom will require escape, and I’m a prisoner of my mother’s curse and my father’s greed. I can’t speak or make a sound, and I can’t wield a sword or beguile a king. In a land purged of enchantment, love might be the only magic left, and who could ever love . . . a bird?”
– Taken from Goodreads

I meant to write my own, because I don’t think this summary does justice to this book, but when it came down to it, I really wouldn’t find the words.

HOW DID YOU FIND THE WRITING STYLE?
I loved the writing! The prologue alone sucked me in! The prologue was written in the point of view of Lark’s mother. The rest of the book is written solely from Lark’s. I thought it was incredibly well written, and I’d recommend it just for that.

HOW DID YOU FIND THE PLOT?
As I am sitting here….It is hard for me to really point out a specific “plot”. The summary above really does not do it justice. I wouldn’t really say it “dragged” at all though, it didn’t skip around, and have too much going on.

WHO WAS YOUR FAVORITE/LEAST FAVORITE CHARACTER
I loved Lark. It is weird for me to admit that I love the main female character. I usually find them to be whiny, and they tend to either be damsels, or just plain annoying with how they don’t need anyone to save them. Lark was not whiny, she was lovely.

I think my favorite character though was Tiras. IDK why, I just instantly fell in love with his character, he was fascinating.

My least favorite…..I’d say Kjell, because I really couldn’t stand him, but he grew on me towards the end. I did not like Lord Corvyn, Lark’s father. It never once crossed my mind that he should have a moment of redemption, and I am glad I never thought that.

DID YOU CONNECT WITH THEM?
I have actually never really understood this question. How do you connect with a fictional character? But I did. I wouldn’t say Lark seemed like a real person to me, because usually books are just books for me….but I understood her character. I understood her wanting, and her love of books, her interest in learning anything and everything…and I understood her thoughtfulness, and how she cared about those she loved.

DID THE MC RESPOND TO SITUATIONS REALISTICALLY?
This is kind of tough to answer…..Lark responded well, I think. Amy didn’t overdo it with her reactions to things. Her re/actions weren’t exaggerated. Neither, would I say, was she unfeeling, or inexpressive.

WHAT IS ONE INTERESTING THING ABOUT THIS BOOK
Its hard to say ONE thing….I really liked how unique it was. I love how AH was able to successfully switch from one genre to another. I loved the characters, I loved how well written it was, I loved everything.

WHAT MADE IT DIFFER FROM OTHER BOOKS OF THE SAME GENRE?
I definitely noticed a couple elements I’ve seen in many books….but I have never read a book where the MC was mute. How it happened, and how she lived with it were unique to me. How eager she was….I think it made her who she was, and like I said before, shes one of the few main leads I could stand. Tiras was good, he was kind. He had his struggles and he was definitely a dominate character, but he wasn’t like other books where he is a control freak. I wouldn’t refer to him as the alpha male, which in books can ruin or make it. Surely he controlled some aspects but he wasn’t all about “its my way, I am the hero, do what I say…”, the normal things.

WERE THERE ANY PARTS THAT COULD HAVE BEEN LEFT OUT?
I think most books have their “unnecessary” parts, this is no different.

DID IT DRAW YOU IN, OR DID YOU FIND THAT YOU COULD EASILY PUT IT DOWN TO DO OTHER THINGS?
I absolutely loved this book! I was drawn in from the beginning. I am trying to think if there were any slow parts, but since my reading, in general, has become erratic because of motherhood…I can’t really think of anything that made me think “this is a good stopping point for now”. I was reading another book while I was reading this one and I ended up putting it completely on hold because I just wanted to read this one.

WOULD YOU REREAD IT?
I would most certainly read this again, and again, and again. I definitely need to reread it when I buy a hard copy of it so I can tabby the hell out of it.

WHO WOULD YOU RECOMMEND IT TO?
I’d totally say everyone! But I know not every genre is for everyone. This is a Fantasy world, YA book, so I’d say if you’re into that genre, you should definitely think about picking it up.


Apologies if this is rough. Like I’ve said before…..reviews are so not my thing. I am awful at writing them, but I definitely felt compelled to with this book. I hope anyone who reads this will look into that book. It really was so good! I gave it a 5/5 star review on GR.

~Ash

Current Read:
Loving Mr. Daniels [81/310]

Current Song:
In Loving Memory [Alterbridge]

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: WP&G[12] / March Wrap Up | Our Book & Bookish Thoughts

Leave a Reply

