Weekly Progress & Goals [10]

Every Sunday, I am going to try to write an update on what I read the previous week, and how my current reads are coming along, and what I hope to accomplish that week.

Well, I’d LIKE to continue to do them on Sundays, but I may be moving them to Saturday nights because it seems like Sunday’s I am having to force time in to write.


3 books….I read 3 books, haha. WOW. Pretty good, considering that I pretty much have from like 2am to whenever I decide I have to go to sleep to read.

I was able to accomplish 2/3 goals for the week! Which I am super proud of. I finished The Bone Season. It wasn’t bad, maybe if I had actually read it instead of listening to it, I would have enjoyed it more. I think I will continue on in the series though, at some point, so I will for sure actually READ it when I reread TBS.

I started and finished my challenge 5 pick! Breathe, by Sarah Crossan. I wasn’t a fan, not really. The book wasn’t bad, but I do think it was geared toward a younger audience. It is definitely one more ‘unread’ book off my shelf though! I am really loving the #TACKLEYOURLIBRARYCHALLENGE17 reading challenge! 6 books off my shelves just in the first 5 challenges, yes!!! I am definitely going to make a 2018 challenge, because this has been incredibly helpful to me!

I wasn’t able to start Crystal Crowned, which was the third thing I wanted to do this week, but I did reread City of Fallen Angels – which in my opinion is the WORST book in The Mortal Instruments series. I am glad its over. Up next is City of Fallen Souls, and then City of Heavenly Fire before Challenge 6 starts! I have actually only read book 6 once, so I am kind of excited to reread it, and I do know its probably the only relevant book to reread before Lady Midnight. I doubt I’ll reread TMI again, It really has turned into that series you can only reread so many times before you just have total disdain for it.


This week…..will most likely be busy, so I will leave it with another 3 challenges, like last week.

I want to finish When It Rains, which I read a chapter of a few days ago. So far its…..heavy, and sad….I love me some sad books. Do you guys like reading book with heavy elements? this one is about a girl who was raped, and I guess her life journey after that. It isn’t my favorite subject, and I am not a huge contemporary fan, but that’s more YOUNG ADULT contemporary, I’ve found I can stand college age and older contemporary. I will let you guys know Sunday how I found it – if I am done with it by then.

I also need to read Crystal Crowned before I forget everything that’s happened in the past 4 books. I am sad that the series is coming to an end, but I do think 5 books is perfect! Is there a certain amount of books in a series that you prefer? Trilogies are okay but sometimes I want more, I think 6 books is too many….I like 4 books, although I can’t say I have a ton of those. Trilogies seem to be the norm in YA, or was…it seems to be evolving.

I am going to try and reread City of Lost Souls too, although, I really don’t remember what happens…so I can’t remember if I like it or not. I’d very much like to be on Challenge 6 by the beginning of April, so I definitely need to make 5 & 6 in TMI a priority.


ICYMI, the APRIL PHOTO CHALLENGE is posted. If you will remember, I said I had a guest co host for April. Jocelyn [@thecrookedshelves] was kind enough to help me out, so I hope you all will go give her absolutely beautiful account a follow over on IG. I am excited for the new month, but sad to see this months challenge coming to an end. Go check out the challenge! and I hope you will all join us. The turn out for March has been a huge success! by the halfway mark, we had gone beyond the entries for February. You guys are all so awesome! You can’t know how much it means to me, to have your support.


Here is a few RL updates, since I don’t really think anyone knows much about my personal life….

My son turned 7 FREAKING MONTHS OLD this past Friday. He started rolling over just 2 days after hitting 6 months. AND he has his 2 front teeth coming in. WHERE DID MY ITTY BITTY BABY GO? He is half my size now, its actually really awkward holding him. I am super short, people! We finally set his crib up yesterday…..He outgrew his bassinet, but due to my husbands work hours and lack of wanting to do anything after work, we’ve been procrastinating with the crib, but now its up, and THERE IS NO DROP DOWN SIDE. I am so mad at myself, because I knew I needed it, but when someone offered us a brand new crib they had gotten and didn’t need, we took it to save some money. I will literally be having to STEP ON A STEP LADDER to put my son in and take him out. Did I mention I am ridiculously short? Because I am.

In other news, I AM SO EXCITED! We couldn’t see it last week, but my SIL and I, are going to see BEAUTY AND THE BEAST on Thursday! I have been dying to see it since they announced it. I am actually really sad I haven’t seen it yet, but my SIL was out of town, and shes my movie date for movies my husband doesn’t want to watch [in theater, anyway, he is forced to watch them later when I get them on DVD].

AND, so strange, and never happens! I am actually seeing TWO movies this week. Tomorrow night we are seeing Logan. We’ve heard really good things, and my husband has been wanting to see it really bad. I’ll let you know how I feel about it, but right now I don’t really know if I want to see it or not.

Other than that, my week will be boring, although its already slightly more exciting than it has been in a while.


It has been a while since I’ve written a long blog post. Sorry about that! I don’t have a ton of ‘me’ time, so when I DO, I kind of have to pick and choose what I do. *hums to self*. Let’s see, is there anything else……………………………………….

OH, make sure to pay attention this week, as me and 4 lovely ladies are doing a group shoutout starting some time tomorrow. I know its a popular tactic, but instead of picking and choosing our favorites [which, no offense, I find incredibly unfair], we will be using the first come, first served approach. So, if you want to be shown to over 19, 500 accounts, definitely try to get it on it early.


Okay, I think that is it….I am hungry and I am sure my child is too, so I should probably go rescue him from his father, or his grandma, I don’t actually know who has him at the moment, but I do know SOMEONE does. #notabadparent

~Ash

Current Reads:
When It Rains [10/314]

Current Song:
By Your Side [Default]

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

