Coming of Age and… Stuff


4/5

I want to preface this by saying I’m not the biggest contemporary fan. I struggle to get through them most of the time, especially if I can’t directly relate to the characters. 

I have such a hard time getting through contemporary these days. I have to be super in the mood for them, or have it be something I’ve read countless times (Perks of Being a Wallflower) or something light (Anna and the French Kiss) for me to get through with ease.

This book was neither light nor something I’ve read countless times. It was slow at parts and sometimes it did drag a bit, BUT I loved the writing and the characters so much. Not sure if I’ll be reading it again anytime soon, but maybe down the line. 

This was definitely a heavier contemporary and had a lot going on, but I liked that with a coming of age story. Kinda had some Perks vibes going, and I did like that as well.

I did really enjoy the writing style and the characters, they were quite diverse. I definitely understand why this book is an award winner! If you’re looking for a good coming of Age book, this is one you’ll want to check out!

_________

-Lauren

Currently Reading:

A Conjuring of Light [page 104]

Island of Exiles [page 20]

(Buddy read with boyfriend) Endgame [page 155]

(Buddy read with Ash soon) Red Rising 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

