Black Mage: Last Stand [Spoiler Free]

I stayed up until VERY late Saturday night, very early Sunday morning to finally finish this book! Last week was a very slow reading week for me [see: Weekly Progress & Goals [5] for more  info], so I wasn’t able to read as much as I wanted…meaning this book sat on the back burner for a while. Once I got past the beginning though, which I honestly didn’t care for…..It was everything I had hoped for, or better and I just couldn’t put it down!

Like I mentioned earlier, I really want to come up with a questionnaire review style…..I am not really sure what information is really important though. Help?


TITLE: Last Stand
AUTHOR: Rachel E. Carter
SERIES: Black Mage
SERIES DETAILS: book 4 of 4 + addition prequel novella
PUBLICATION DATE: February 7, 2017
AVG RATING [Goodreads]: 4.4 out of 5 Stars
EDITION READ: Kindle
PAGES: 452

MY RATING: 4.5 out of 5 Stars
DATES READ: February 6 [early release] – February 11,2017
I pretty much only read it those two days though.


INITIAL THOUGHTS: I spent the previous week rereading the first three books. This is one of my all time favorite series. [see: Black Mage – the first 3 books for more info]. I was incredibly excited once I remembered this was being released soon, haha. I have loved Ryiah and Darren from the beginning, and I was more than ready for their story to continue – but incredibly sad to see their story end. The last book of a series is always bittersweet. Please, give me more, Rachel!!!!!

THOUGHTS ON BEGINNING: I really didn’t like the beginning. I couldn’t for the life of me stop feeling like I’d read a similar story before, and it was bugging me that I couldn’t think of what it was. I don’t think it was necessarily anything in general, just certain things reminded me of a whole lot of YA books I’ve read – definitely a problem in the writers world, I am sure. I feel like it has all been done before, hard to be original. And since Lauren and I had decided to reread City of Bones together, and with REAL LIFE being busy, I kind of put it aside….. I read a chapter here, a chapter there, you get the idea. Well, by Saturday I had decided to finally sit my ass down and read it, AND I will say that around 25/30% it definitely got better. The action picked up, the story was way exciting and so much was going on. THE FEELS were real with this one. I can’t begin to tell you how many times my heart broke. Thanks Rachel. BUT, I was forewarned. I messaged Rachel last year and told her not to go GoT on our asses….and well, she laughed…..haha.

THOUGHTS ON THE MIDDLE: Rachel is a SADIST. Damn, she was brutal as hell. I LOVED IT. Authors of the YA either stay away from violent scenes or they don’t do GRAPHIC. Rachel….wow, yeah, Rachel doesn’t believe in denying us what goes on in her head. My eyes were seriously popping out of my head at certain parts. I was in total disbelief more than a dozen times. And then there was that…definitely not violent scene…yeah, I loved that. I’ve only been waiting since the first meeting in the first book for that, haha.

AFTERTHOUGHTS: There seemed to be a change in writing style…..I wasn’t overly fond of her use of “the boy” and “the girl”, and Darren’s sudden habit of calling Ryiah “Love” was a bit much, but, once you got past that, it was a very enjoyable book….you know….when you weren’t cringing, or crying, or screaming in frustration, and trying to calm yourself from the hysterics that were just under the surface of emotions. Overall, I enjoyed the plot. I’ve always thought Rachel’s characters and their use of magic were very original. I thought Ryiah and Darren stayed true to how they have been all along – stubborn as hell and willing to do whatever it takes for the ones they love. There was a scene concerning them though…….for the most part, the book gave me the feeling that it wouldn’t end the way I wanted….and this scene…..pretty much made me NOT want it to end the way I had wanted. I don’t see how THAT can happen and then be justified like it was okay – but it is what it is. It was a drop of water in the ocean, really, but I still didn’t care for it.

As with every book, there were things I absolutely loved, there were things I would have changed….I am still unsure of my feelings for the ending. I sometimes feel like epilogues for the last book in a series makes or breaks everything that has been leading up to it. Not the BEST, and it really left me wanting more….So, Rachel, yeah, make that happen, haha.


OKAY, well, that was…..probably even more rough than my first review, haha. Anyone at least intrigued enough to read them? if so, my job is done!

#TACKLEYOURLIBRARYCHALLENGE17 ——> 2017 Reading Challenge

~Ash

Current Read:
City of Ashes [197/490]
Playboy Pilot [13%]
Fire Falling [2%]

Current Song:
How Long Will I Love You? [Ellie Goulding]

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: February Wrap Up | Our Book & Bookish Thoughts

Leave a Reply

