Weekly Progress & Goals

I think every Sunday, I am going to try to write an update on how my current reads are coming along, and what I hope to accomplish during that week. Lets see how long I can keep that up, shall we?


I am making great progress in Six of Crows! I fell behind, and wasn’t able to read it for a couple of days so I thought it’d take me longer to get done, but I will probably be done before I go to bed tonight. I just started part 5 [of 6]. My thoughts so far….I like it, it is a fun read, and I love how different all the characters are. I honestly do not see what all the hype is about….though, it’s probably just me.

I am only about 30% into Paper Princess………I honestly didn’t know what it was, going in, and the cover, to me, is quite deceiving. I thought I would be going into some happy happy fantasy royalty book, but its quite far from that. I haven’t quite figured out what the end game is, and I couldn’t really tell you if I like it or not. I am going to try my hardest to not DNF [so much] this year, so hopefully I can finish it.


I am trying to always keep a hard copy and a kindle book going. Sometimes I can’t read my physical book because my son makes it nearly impossible, so that is where the kindle app comes in. I don’t want to not read just because I am totally incapable of juggling a book and a child, and the kindle app on my phone makes that an easier task.

After I am done with Six of Crows, I believe I will jump right into Crooked Kingdom. From there, I think I will do a reread of Loving Mr. Daniels or Cinder and Ella, before jumping into my Challenge Two pick [The Longest Ride]. I haven’t quite decided which kindle book is next, although I may read Queen of the Tearling, simply because Lauren is currently reading it.

This week I would definitely like to finish Six of Crows, Crooked Kingdom, Paper Princess, and at least be halfway done with [if not finished with] LMD or C&E…..which are quick reads, so I know once I get started, it’ll be easy enough to finish, but life with a 5 month old is unpredictable.


I won’t say the response to our 2017 Reading Challenge is AMAZING, but I am definitely loving the turn out. Thank you everyone! I said it before, but I have really enjoyed seeing your use of the hashtag. How far is everyone into their challenge one pick??

If you have no idea what I am talking about…a few posts back, Lauren and I posted a year[ish] long reading challenge that is meant to help you read books you own but haven’t read yet. If you want the shortcut to get there and check it out for yourself, please click the link below:

2017 Reading Challenge


I am still working on my photo challenge for February, but I am hoping I can have that done before the end of the week. The first one was easy, I just took book tags that I loved and kind of evolved some of them….but this time around I decided to use song titles from my iPod. It is actually harder than I thought it would be. MOST have ended up being self explanatory based on the title, but some of the songs I wanted to use [simply because of my love for them] are proving to be difficult. *fingers crossed* I will figure it out. BUT, if anyone has any ideas for a book photo idea for “Sound of Silence”, let me know. I might be separating the songs up and using song titles for multiple months, so if anyone has any song titles that they love, share that below, I’d love to hear from some of my followers!


Not exactly bookish, but my husband and I just watched the first episode of Series of Unfortunate Events…..or rather, I watched it and he watched the parts he didn’t miss when he fell asleep *eye roll*. It wasn’t bad…..but I’d be okay if it got better. I’ve never read the books [maybe it is something I will do when L is older], I’ve only seen the original movie. It was a cute start, intriguing,, not totally sure how I feel about NPH as Olaf yet, but I definitely plan to watch and form a better opinion.

It is really hard to watch anything with my husband [Nic, in case you were wondering], he works all day, and then by the time we are sitting down to watch something – usually after dinner… – he’s so tired that he usually falls asleep. I love, but don’t love watching things with him. On one hand, I love doing stuff with him, even if it is a TV show or movie. BUUUUT, at the same time, I am a binge watcher of things, so, I actually get irritated or lose interest when we start a show and he likes it enough to watch it, but then I end up having to wait days….weeks….to get through it. Anyone else like this…? Please tell me I am not the only one, haha.

OKAY, well, I really want to get back to my book now. I am so close to being finished, and I’d like to get as much reading done as I can before my son wakes up. And hopefully be saying that didn’t just jinx me. He is starting that habit of being asleep when I don’t feel like doing anything….and then instantly needing me as soon as I am about to read…eat….watch something on the TV, or even better, trying to sneak away to pee…I now know how my mother felt when I had to follow her EVERYWHERE, yes, even the bathroom…I have fond memories of hiding in the closet across the hall when she locked the door, haha. Did I mention, L isn’t even mobile yet? Can’t wait…..

~Ash

Currently Reading:
Six of Crows [369/462]
Paper Princess [29%]

Current Song:
Rain Song [Cold]
“And every time it rains – I feel her holding me
And everytime it rains  – Are the angels crying”

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up [#1] | Queen Of The Books

Leave a Reply

