2016 TBR’s

The headline makes no sense, I am too tired to think of something witty for 2016 books I wanted to read, but will try to read this year.

I haven’t written for a couple days! My bad. I’ve been entirely too tired and preoccupied with the Little, I’ve hardly done much of anything but watch tv.

I have my Challenge reads….and my annual rereads reads…..and my kindle reads [which I haven’t wrote about yet]….and my other rereads…..and…..yeah, well I also made a list of 2016 releases that I bought and wanted to read, but didn’t get to last year.

I will eventually have something else to say, but like I said, its been a busy few days. I feel like I am absolutely behind on everything, but felt, if I didn’t write today, I’d probably neglect to do so tomorrow…and the next day….and you know, so on and so forth. I’ve had this for 13 days, I don’t want to give up on it already.


CROOKED KINGDOM [Leigh Bardugo]
Pages: 546
Description: I don’t want to read the back of the book until I have finished reading book one, which I am also behind on.


THE MIDNIGHT STAR [Marie Lu]
Pages: 314
Description: Haven’t read the back yet. I need to read book two first, also on the TBR this  year.


A COURT OF MIST AND FURY [Sarah J. Maas]
Pages: 624
Description: I actually have no desire to read this, I am quite done with SJM, but because my friend gifted it to me when she came for a visit over the summer, I told myself I’d tackle it this year.


SALT TO THE SEA [Ruta Sepetys]
Pages: 378
Description: Winter, 1945. Four teenagers. Four secrets.
Each one born of a different homeland; each one hunted, and haunted, by tragedy, lies…and war.
As thousands of desperate refugees flock to the coast in the midst of a Soviet advance, four paths converge, vying for passage aboard the Wilhelm Gustloff, a ship that promises safety and freedom.
Yet not all promises can be kept.
Inspired by the single greatest tragedy in maritime history, bestselling and award-winning author Ruta Sepetys (Between Shades of Gray) lifts the veil on a shockingly little-known casualty of World War II. An illuminating and life-affirming tale of heart and hope.”

Thoughts: I ABSOLUTELY love Between Shades of Grey. I’ve read it a couple times, and each in one sitting. I was so excited to buy this last year, and had been determined to jump right in, but alas, it never happened. Its been added to my TYL reading challenge, and I am for sure looking forward to it this year.


SCYTHE [Neal Shusterman]
Pages: 433
Description: The Scythes’s Commandments:
Thou shalt kill
Thou shalt kill with no bias, bigotry, or malice aforethought.
Thou shalt grant an annum of immunity to the beloved of those who accept your coming..
Thou shalt kill the beloved of those who resist….

Thoughts: I don’t know anything about this book. All I know is that Lauren told me to buy it, so I did. When I got it, I read the back, and was very excited to get to it. I find it very intriguing, and it sounds like it’ll be a fun time!


AND I DARKEN [Kiersten White]
Pages: 475
Description: No one expects a princess to be brutal. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.
Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion.
But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.

Thoughts: I love the cover, this was a total cover buy. I have previously read a book by this author and thought it was “just okay”, so I am a bit hesitant going in to this….but I am hoping that time has given her the ability to step up her game.


THE FLAME NEVER DIES [Rachel Vincent]
Pages: 342
Description: This is the sequel to “The Stars Never Rise”, which I loved!

Thoughts: I am really looking forward to this one. Book one started off really odd……..but I actually really enjoyed it! I want to reread it this year so I can jump right into this one.


And the last book that I own from 2016, that I could think of, anyway….or that wasn’t already added to one of my previous 2017 reading lists….is:

A TORCH AGAINST THE NIGHT [Sabaa Tahir]
Pages: 452Description: The sequel to An Ember in the Ashes [100/5 stars]

Thoughts: I AM SO EXCITED FOR THIS. I think AEitA was one of my top five favorites in 2015, and was one of my favorite rereads in 2016. I didnt get to this one, unfortunately. Well, not TOO unfortunately, the reason I didn’t get to it is because my son arrived, and I was much to preoccupied loving him to read much at the end of the year. I also heard this wasn’t going to be a duology! so, if its anything like book 1, then I am saddened that the wait for book three is a long one.


On another note: Who has started their #TACKLEYOURLIBRARYCHALLENGE17 reading? I have already seen some photos on Instagram! I am very excited and moved by this! Thank you everyone who is making this a reality. I had originally put it together with Lauren to motivate us to read more owned books this year, I had no idea that merely writing about it on here would have such a positive effect on others as well.

I am slowly getting through Six of Crows. It is far from bad, but like I said, life is busy. When you’re a mother, and a new mother at that, your priorities kind of shift. So where I was all about reading back in 2015….I don’t have that luxury anymore. I WILL PREVAIL! I’ll get it done. I may need to reread one of my annual rereads afterwards though. I feel like I am forcing reading on myself, and I hate that feeling.

ALSO! Wow, I love that word….I participated in a photo challenge in November, and I made one for myself in December, and am taking part in photo challenges again this month…I am trying to put together a photo challenge for next month, so stay tuned! I figure if I switch off, then I’ll always have prompts for photos, but I won’t be near as stressed trying to put them together.

Well, I think 1224 words is a good start after having been gone a couple days. I will try my hardest to come up with ideas for future blog posts. If anyone has any ideas, please let me know in the comments down below. Thanks for reading!

~Ash

Current Read:
Six of Crows [59/462]
Paper Princess [12% – I hate when kindle books don’t have page numbers]

Current Song:
Better or Worse [Theory of a Deadman]
“Can’t leave love in the sun like that – a heart may die, it’s a matter of fact.
And it’s up to us to remember these words baby”

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

