Aye Aye, Captain!

img_0746-3My (raving) 5-Star review of Passenger by Alexandra Bracken.

I’m going to start this review off by saying that I was also a huge fan of Bracken’s other series, The Darkest Minds. And if you haven’t read that trilogy yet, you definitely should.

Anyways! THE STORY. I absolutely adored this book from beginning to end. It’s already one that I wish I had read much earlier and definitely one I can say will probably stay a favorite of 2017 for me.

My boyfriend can usually tell how much I love a book by:
1) How often I mention the book when I’m reading it… which was multiple times a day for this book despite it only taking me a few days to read.
2) Whether or not I read when he’s around- if I’m reading while he’s sitting next to me, he knows it’s a book that I’m thoroughly enjoying and will very rarely interrupt me. And boy did I read this book while he was around.
3) Whether or not I’m actually making noises out-loud when reading. If I do, I’m absorbed, if I don’t, I’m not, simple as that. And I was laughing or sighing or gasping throughout this entire book.

I should mention (if you aren’t already aware) that this book contains time travel. So if that’s not your thing, this book may not be the one for you. If it is, check this book out! I absolutely love the concept of time travel, especially in cases like this where it’s presented in a very unique way (I’m not going to go into specifics, I don’t want to give anything away) and is handled with taste like this was.

From the first page to the last, I loved the main characters. Etta was stubborn and headstrong and determined, and Nicholas was caring and strong and defiant. I loved the chemistry between them, and I love the way Bracken wrote them.

It seems all too rare for YA books to contain a whole lot of ethnic diversity, but the fact that Nicholas was African American and born in a time that made him someone’s property and that not only that, but Bracken went into a lot of the social ramifications of this mentality and what it’s done to society and just how bad things were made me so happy. Guys, this stuff really did happen. Racism was even more rampant then, and they justified it in some pretty shitty was- which Bracken actually talks about via this terrible character spewing this hateful stuff. It was done in a way that made you really think about it though, and think about walking in someone else’s shoes if you haven’t been in that situation and not in a distasteful in your face sorta way.

Bracken’s world building for this book was fantastic and magical and I loved and absorbed every little detail she gave us. And getting to see some very huge moments in time was something that I found intriguing.

This book is one I will definitely be reading again at some point, and is a series I will definitely be continuing on with. 5/5 stars, without a doubt.

 

-Lauren xx

Currently reading: (Just decided on Ivory and Bone)

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

