Annual Rereads

So, for the past few years I have reread the same few books/series. I definitely plan on doing that again this year. I’ve noticed there is a dislike for rereading books, but I don’t believe in it. If I love a book, I do not care how many new books come out, or how much my already neverending TBR pile grows….I will reread a good book.

Mainly, I will reread a book to get out of a reading slump. In 2015, I reread about 70 books….after I had already read them that year. That is how awesome my reading slump was. I reread a lot last year too, but I don’t think I read a book more than once.

A few of the books on my “annual reread” list are:

CINDER & ELLA [Kelly Oram]
Pages: 312First Read: April 2 & 3, 2015
First Reread: June 20, 2015
Second Reread: April 3, 2016

Goodreads description: It’s been almost a year since eighteen-year-old Ella Rodriguez was in a car accident that left her crippled, scarred, and without a mother. After a very difficult recovery, she’s been uprooted across the country and forced into the custody of a father that abandoned her when she was a young child. If Ella wants to escape her father’s home and her awful new stepfamily, she must convince her doctors that she’s capable, both physically and emotionally, of living on her own. The problem is, she’s not ready yet. The only way she can think of to start healing is by reconnecting with the one person left in the world who’s ever meant anything to her—her anonymous Internet best friend, Cinder.
Hollywood sensation Brian Oliver has a reputation for being trouble. There’s major buzz around his performance in his upcoming film The Druid Prince, but his management team says he won’t make the transition from teen heartthrob to serious A-list actor unless he can prove he’s left his wild days behind and become a mature adult. In order to douse the flames on Brian’s bad-boy reputation, his management stages a fake engagement for him to his co-star Kaylee. Brian isn’t thrilled with the arrangement—or his fake fiancée—but decides he’ll suffer through it if it means he’ll get an Oscar nomination. Then a surprise email from an old Internet friend changes everything.

My review from the first time I read it, and which hasn’t changed at all:

You want to know why you’ve never been able to make me cry? Because you’re trying to tear down someone who’s already hit rock bottom. You can’t make me feel any worse about myself than I already do.

“APRIL 2015: this is my 80th book read this year….and I wish it had been one of the first. This was such an adorable, heartwarming [at times], devastating [a lot…], beautiful, gut wrenching, and amazingly wonderful book.

I laughed, I cried…..I laughed until I cried….I just…cried….and I smiled…. you would think this is ‘just’ another retelling of Cinderella,  but, its so much more than that.

It’s about a girl, who has survived a horrible accident and how she tries to deal with her life as it is now, which is so much different than what she grew up knowing. She is in a new place, with a new family, shes bullied….shes hated….but she is just so strong, and I love her to pieces.
It’s about a boy, who is so much more under the surface….
its about a beautiful friendship that just might be something else entirely.
I loved this book!”

THOUGHTS: I am most happy to announce that I found out a few months ago that this [really lame cover] GOT A MAKE OVER, and it got a makeover TO MATCH THE UPCOMING SEQUEL. I am so flipping excited, you have no idea. I may have to buy the new cover…not kidding, and YES, I know we are doing a “read your owned books” challenge…BUT I AM JUST SO IN LOVE WITH THIS BOOK.  I am for sure buying the sequel, even if the new covered Cinder and Ella has to wait.



Another book on my list….

LOVING MR. DANIELS [Brittainy C. Cherry]
Pages: 330
First Read: April 12, 2015
First Reread: June 20, 2015
Second Reread: April 6-9, 2016

Goodreads Description: To Whom it May Concern,
It was easy to call us forbidden and harder to call us soulmates. Yet I believed we were both. Forbidden soulmates.
When I arrived to Edgewood, Wisconsin I didn’t plan to find him. I didn’t plan to stumble into Joe’s bar and have Daniel’s music stir up my emotions. I had no clue that his voice would make my hurts forget their own sorrow. I had no idea that my happiness would remember its own bliss.
When I started senior year at my new school, I wasn’t prepared to call him Mr. Daniels, but sometimes life happens at the wrong time for all the right reasons.
Our love story wasn’t only about the physical connection.
It was about family. It was about loss. It was about being alive. It was silly. It was painful. It was mourning. It was laughter.
It was ours.
And for those reasons alone, I would never apologize for Loving Mr. Daniels.
-Ashlyn Jennings

My review from when I read this:

If I learned anything these past few months, it’s that life sucks, Daniel. It sucks. It’s mean, it’s vicious, and it’s unapologetic. It’s dark and cruel. But then, sometimes, it’s so beautiful that it knocks all of that darkness out of your system with the light.

APRIL 2016: I don’t think there will ever be a time that I can read this without crying my damn eyes out. The first review from April definitely still stands! I love this story, its just as devastatingly beautiful the 2nd time around, and I have a feeling it’ll be like that when it comes to reading it for the 5th, 20th, and 50th time.
——–
APRIL 2015 [original review]: I need a minute to calm myself down………….breathe, Ashley….you’re good. This book…….wow……I can’t even……….where do I start……..breeaaaaaaaathe………
OKAY, so…..this book….my God, this book….BEAUTIFUL, SO AMAZINGLY, AND EMOTIONALLY, AND DEVASTATINGLY BEAUTIFUL.
It is 5 am, I haven’t slept…I started this one really late, thinking it was going to be some lighthearted, silly, easy read…..but I was so, so, so wrong….This book had me tearing up from the very beginning, and the tears never went away. This is some real shit, seriously. do not mistake this for some lighthearted entertainment, this is not even close.
The characters are amazing. I loved Daniel, and I loved Ashlyn. Both suffering losses, but they find hope and love and a future in each other….I loved every minute of this. And Daniels band?? Heck yes, all the lyrics at the beginning of the chapters, I want this band to be real-life, seriously. The family drama is real, the problems are real….its not like other books where someone mentions something awful happening, you are right there experiencing it and feeling the pain.
I loved laughing with Ashlyn, and crying with Ashlyn, and smiling with Ashlyn, and loving with Ashlyn. I loved this book so much, and I would definitely, definitely [if you read the book you’d see what I just did there ;)] recommend it.”

THOUGHTS: Rereading my review makes me want to go reread it now. Yep.



RELENTLESS [Karen Lynch]
Pages: 280
First Read: January 28 & 29, 2015
First Reread: May 30 & 31, 2015
Second Reread: I know I reread it in 2016, but I didn’t record all my reads and rereads

Goodreads Description: Sara Grey’s world shattered ten years ago when her father was brutally murdered. Now at seventeen, she is still haunted by memories of that day and driven by the need to understand why it happened. She lives a life full of secrets and her family and friends have no idea of the supernatural world she is immersed in or of Sara’s own very powerful gift.
In her quest for answers about her father’s death, Sara takes risks that expose her and her friends to danger and puts herself into the sights of a sadistic vampire. On the same fateful night she meets Nikolas, a warrior who turns Sara’s world upside down and is determined to protect her even if it’s the last thing she wants.
Sara’s life starts to spin out of control as she is hunted by an obsessed vampire, learns that her friends have secrets of their own and reels from the truth about her own ancestry. Sara has always been fiercely independent but in order to survive now she must open herself to others, to reveal her deepest secrets. And she must learn to trust the one person capable of breaking down the walls around her.

GR review: “MAY 2015: Apparently I need to just…reread all my favorite books from this year…..*sigh*
I haven’t really stopped thinking about this book since I finished it the first time around back in January. It starts out kind of slow, there really isn’t anything special about it….but then you read on, and you start to piece together what Sara is all about.
This book is a lovely mix of vampire, werewolf, troll and faerie stories, along with some other creatures. You would think, that it would be just a mess with so many supernatural creatures, but it really does work here.
I said it before, and I will repeat that it is beautifully written. I love it as much as I did the first time around, maybe even more…Sara wasn’t as much of a pain as I originally thought. I love all the characters here, Lynch definitely did it right when she introduced us to each of them. Also, you can’t beat Nikolas Danshov. He is my top fictional boyfriend. I love him! He is the best.
I recommend this to everyone, really…its so good! definitely one of the top favorite books [series…] I’ve ever read.
————
JAN 2015 [original review]: I hate finishing such amazing books. this one was beautifully written. there were times I wasn’t so fond of the main character…but she’s pretty bad ass all in all. I am looking forward to getting my hands on the next one!.”

THOUGHTS: This is a trilogy, and KL recently released a book in NIKOLAS’ POV from all three books. I love them all, but just wanted to share the first one, in case of spoilers. She is also releasing a book in ANOTHER persons POV, but I am not really happy, I wish she had chosen a different character because I didn’t actually like this secondary character.



For the past 2 years, Lauren and I have reread The Mortal Instruments & The Infernal Devices together. We even REREAD TID TOGETHER, just months after we had both read them separately. We definitely plan on rereading them this year. I think we should just read TMI and THEN TID though, because when we reread them last, we read them in the publication order annnnnd after we finished TID, I didn’t want to reread CoHF. I will just type the information of the first book in both series, or else I might be here all night! 9 books is a lot.

CITY OF BONES [Cassandra Clare]
Pages: 485
First Read: 2013
First Reread: May 2014
Second Reread: July 12-15, 2015
Third Reread: March 23-April 2, 2016

Goodreads Description: When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?
This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know.

GR review: “This book – this series – is really good. This is my third time reading through the series [second, for the last book], and so far, I am loving it….I loved this first book in the series, more than I did the first time I read it. I love rereads, simply because…you catch little things that you didn’t notice, or wouldn’t know to notice the first time around.
I haven’t read this since I’ve watched the movie…The movie wasn’t amazing, but I actually liked it [as something apart from these books], but having read this, and remembering the movie, I actually saw just how different the movie is from the books….I am really looking forward to seeing what they do with the TV show!!
I love the characters, they all have their own personalities, and are easily identified by what they say. I love how witty they are, and of course, I think the Shadowhunters – Jace, Alec and Isabelle – are pretty damn bad ass. I am still not a fan of Simon, he just…irks me for some reason. Clary, I like her for the most part, but eh. I will say that I am happy they upped the ages for the TV show.
Just knowing what lies ahead in the rest of the books, I am looking forward to starting CoA!”

THOUGHTS: I have no comment on the show…..I watched the first season and I didn’t hate it, but I haven’t started the 2nd season yet.


CLOCKWORK ANGEL [Cassandra Clare]
Pages: 476
First Read: January 5-9, 2014
First Reread: January 9-11, 2015
Second Reread: July 24-27, 2015
Third Reread: April 20-23, 2016

Goodreads Description: In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.
The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…

My GR review: “When Lauren and I decided to BR through the TMI/TID books….I was really, really excited. I was totally up for rereading TMI, but what I was most excited for was TID! [We both were, even though we had already read them earlier in the year] I am so in love with William Herondale. YES, I love Jace too….but there’s just something about his ancestor that makes me all sorts of happy [like his British-ness].  I’m a Jem fan too, but Will is just…Will.
I prefer this trilogy over the TMI series. I almost wish that this was longer and TMI was the trilogy, but then I realize that…sometimes the shorter, the better….series, any series…books, movies, tv shows….the longer they go on, the higher chance of the appeal disappearing. Three books is perfect.
The world Clare created here, I love the time period – Victorian London, it brings to mind class, and a regal feel, elegance. I think if I could go back in time, it’d be here. I love the progression of this series….It isn’t all that fast paced, you really get to know the characters for themselves before any romance truly takes place.
Clockwork Angel is a masterpiece. TID, in general is, hands down, my favorite trilogy ever. I am always saying that the first book should always be considered the ‘worst’ in a series. Even if its amazing….the first book should always set the bar, and the following books should always be raising said bar…This trilogy definitely embodies that. Clockwork Princess, book three…is…I don’t even have the words…if THIS is a masterpiece, what can be said that sets Clockwork Princess above it?”

THOUGHTS: What else do I really need to say….?



I do have books that I read last year, that I’d like to read annually, but THESE, oh yes, these are the best! I am going to try and hold off reading them until I get some of those challenge books read…..BUT, I will definitely be done reading them by the time I intend on reading Lady Midnight.

I think that is all for the night. Time to go spend time with the baby and husband ❤
~Ash

Currently Reading:
Gemina [235/659]
Front Lines [299/543]
[I know I am reading these way slowly, but my almost 5 month old has decided reading can shove it, haha. I read a lot yesterday! and I am so into both these books finally, so hopefully I can finish one quickly so I can start my first challenge book SIX OF CROWS]

Currently Song:
Would It Matter? [Skillet]

Leave a Reply

