2017 TBR

What…? an ACTUAL blog post….about books…? crazy.

So after yesterdays lovely post….[big thank you to all who read it and wrote nice comments! I appreciate any and all feedback. I apologize for any offending I did, but I felt like it needed to be said….] I decided I needed to tone it down a bit, for a few posts anyway! and bring you….my 2017 TBR! bet you were wondering where I was going with that title, huh?

This year, my reading goal is 65 books, but not just any 65 books. I want to concentrate on books here at home that I’ve neglected. Last time I counted [and its been a while], I had about 450 books, and I’ve maybe read 100 of them. So this year, I am going to try and work on those numbers.

I am not totally sure what I plan on reading yet, but my 2 big bookcases have 14 shelves all together, 12 which are filled with books. So I am going to pick one book from each shelf, and put it on my “I NEED to read this is 2017” list.

Lets see:

#1 RED RISING [Pierce Brown]
Pages: 382
Excerpt: “His wife taken. His people enslaved. Driven by a longing for justice and the memory of lost love, Darrow will stop at nothing to bring down his enemies…even if he must become one of them to do so. For the first time, Red will rise.”

Thoughts: This really does sound interesting. I’ve had this, and the 2nd book on my shelves for a while now. I meant to read it months ago, but pregnancy and motherhood kind of took over my life in 2016.

#2 LADY MIDNIGHT [Cassandra Clare]
Pages: 669
Excerpt: In a kingdom by the sea…In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight demons, parabatai is a sacred word.
A parabatai is your partner in battle. A parabatai is your best friend. Parabatai can be everything to each other—but they can never fall in love.
Emma Carstairs is a warrior, a Shadowhunter, and the best in her generation. She lives for battle. Shoulder to shoulder with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, she patrols the streets of Los Angeles, where vampires party on the Sunset Strip, and faeries—the most powerful of supernatural creatures—teeter on the edge of open war with Shadowhunters. When the bodies of humans and faeries turn up murdered in the same way Emma’s parents were when she was a child, an uneasy alliance is formed. This is Emma’s chance for revenge—and Julian’s chance to get back his brother Mark, who is being held prisoner by the faerie Courts. All Emma, Mark, and Julian have to do is solve the murders within two weeks…and before the murderer targets them.
Their search takes Emma from sea caves full of sorcery to a dark lottery where death is dispensed. And each clue she unravels uncovers more secrets. What has Julian been hiding from her all these years? Why does Shadowhunter Law forbid parabatai to fall in love? Who really killed her parents—and can she bear to know the truth?
The darkly magical world of Shadowhunters has captured the imaginations of millions of readers across the globe. Join the adventure in Lady Midnight, the long-awaited first volume of a new trilogy from Cassandra Clare”

Thoughts: I really did mean to read this when I got it……but then I wanted to reread all the TMI and TID books, and then I got caught up in TID and didn’t even finish TMI, soooo, yeah, I never got to this one. Will I this year? I guess we will have to see!

#3 NEARLY GONE [Elle Cosimano]
Pages: 386
Excerpt: Keeping secrets is second nature to Nearly Boswell. Living in a trailer park outside Washington, DC, with a mom who works as an exotic dancer, she knows better than to share anything that would make her a target with her classmates. Only her best friends know about her obsession with the personal ads, and Nearly hasn’t told anyone about the emotions she can taste when she brushes against someone’s skin.
Then a serial killer goes on a murder spree and starts attacking students, leaving cryptic ads in the newspaper. Nearly might be the one person who can put all the clues together, and if she doesn’t figure it out soon – she’ll be next.
Big, dark, scary, and brilliantly plotted, Nearly Gone will leave you guessing until the very end.”

Thoughts: I used to really really really love mystery/thrillers. That is all I read at one point. BUT, having shared that love with my grandfather, it was really hard to get into them after he passed some 8 years ago this week. I bought this mainly for the cover, I absolutely love it. I’d share a picture, but I don’t know how to do that yet, haha.

#4 MY LADY JANE [Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton & Jodi Meadows]
Pages: 491
Excerpt: The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.
At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane is about to become the Queen of England”

Thoughts: I LOVE historical fiction, and I especially love the time of Henry the 8th, so this being about Jane Grey, but not quite, just kind of makes me giddy. I REALLY DID MEAN TO READ THIS LAST MONTH, but December was just way too hectic. I think I read 2 books total…?

#5 THE EVOLUTION OF MARA DYER [Michelle Hodkin]
Pages: 527
Excerpt: “You wake up from sedation in a psychiatric ward. You know you’re not crazy, but no one believes you. Your impossible past is catching up to you – quickly. You uncover a secret too big to be untrue, and your boyfriend is keeping secrets of his own. You are a walking target. Can you unravel the lies? Mara Dyer is about to find out.”

Thoughts: I read and thought the first book was crazy as f##k. But I never read on, because I didn’t have books one and two when I finished book one, and by the time I got them, I had moved on to other things. So this year, I’d like to reread book one, and finish the trilogy.

#6 GEMINA [Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman]
Pages: 659
Excerpt: Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.
The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.
Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.
When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.
But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.
Once again told through a compelling dossier of emails, IMs, classified files, transcripts, and schematics, Gemina raises the stakes of the Illuminae Files, hurling readers into an enthralling new story that will leave them breathless.”

Thoughts: I might be cheating here, because I am almost done with my reread of Illuminae, and will be starting this one shortly, buuuuut, I will have another post of more books on my TBR at some point in the next few months, and I will [obviously] pick something else from that shelf. I am so excited for this one! Rereading Illuminae wasn’t at all necessary, as this is a new set of characters, BUT THE FEELS, AND THE INSANITY…..I needed to reread it. I couldn’t help myself.

#7 HEARTLESS [Marissa Meyer]
Pages: 449
Excerpt: Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.
At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.
Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.”

Thoughts: The cover of this is amazing, just so you know. This wasn’t only a cover buy though. After reading the Lunar Chronicles and loving every single one of them….I have greatly come to admire Meyer and her work. I have high hopes for this one, and have neglected to read reviews on it, just for that reason. Seeing negative reviews on things or people telling me not to read a book is disheartening….but thats for another post!

#8 THE HEART OF BETRAYAL [Mary E. Pearson]
Pages: 470
Excerpt: I didn’t want to post from this book, as I thought it kind of spoiler-y if you haven’t read the first one, so I will post from the FIRST book.
The Kiss of Deception: A princess must find her place in a reborn world.
She flees on her wedding day.
She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.
She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.
She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.
The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.
Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.”

Thoughts: I read the first one, and I read it during a time where I didn’t feel much like reading, so I couldn’t get into it, and I didn’t like it. BUT, after reading so many good reviews on it, I have decided to give it another shot this year, and then on to this one!

#9 FALLING KINGDOMS [Morgan Rhodes]
Pages: 412
Excerpt: “In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.
As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.
The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?
It’s the eve of war…. Choose your side.
Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.
Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.
Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.
Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword…”

Thoughts: This sounds intriguing, really intriguing. And I have heard nothing but good things, so I definitely hope I can get to this one sooner rather than later.

#10 THIS SAVAGE SONG [Victoria Schwab]
Pages: 427
Excerpt: Corsai, Corsai – Tooth And Claw
Shadown And Bone – Will Eat You Raw.
Malchai, Malchai – Sharp And Sly
Smile And Bite – And Drink You Dry.
Sunai, Sunai – Eyes Like Coal,
Sing You A Song – And Steal Your Soul.
Monsters, Monsters – Big And Small,
They’re Gonna Come – And Eat You All.

Ooooh, that one was hard. There were 4 books that immediately jumped out at me, but decided to go with this one.

Thoughts: CAN WE JUST TALK ABOUT THE BACK OF THE BOOK FOR A SECOND. I mean, really, that sounds amazingly insane. I for one can’t wait to get to it! So it’ll probably be an early 2017 read.

#11 THE FLAME NEVER DIES [Rachel Vincent]
Pages: 342
Excerpt [taken from the back of the first book]
“The Stars Never Rise: A degenerate in New Temperance. A rogue exorcist with beautiful green eyes. A parking lot full of cops. And they were all looking for me”

Thoughts: I really enjoyed the first book, way more than I thought I actually would. The first couple chapters were a bit off putting, but once I got through them, I got through it rather quickly. I am excited to finally read the sequel!

#12 THE INFINITE SEA [Rick Yancey]
Pages: 300
Excerpt: How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.
Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.
Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate.”

Thoughts: I read the first one, and like “The Kiss of Deception” I think I read it at a time where I really just did not want to read, so, I didn’t enjoy it. I will probably also reread the first book in that series as well, before reading this one.

Anyone read any of these, or plan on reading them this year? No spoilers please, and please do not voice negative opinions, I would much rather hear about you LIKING a book, rather than you trying to tell me how much you hated a book I am actually wanting to read.

Well thats all for this post, I think. My son needs my attention. Thanks for reading!

~Ash

Current Read:
Illuminae [500/599]
Front Lines [64/543]

Current Song:
Anything But Ordinary – Avril Lavigne

13 Comments

  1. Girl your shelves sound like mine. I did a count recently. Just in physical books that are mine and not my husbands, I have 303. And 187 of them are unread. If you include my kindleapp and iBooks it gets even more ridiculous. I need to read My Lady Jane as well. Let me know if you wanna buddy read. And I’ve already read Nearly Gone, and I thought it was good.

    Like

  2. Excellent TBR! I just bought My Lady Jane on my Nook for $1.99, which is a total score for me : ). I can’t wait to read it but I have serious problems with sticking to a set TBR. I get easily distracted by all of the other books I want to read. BUT This Savage Song is pretty high up on my list. Can’t wait to hear what you think of these!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay! The blog looks awesome. And Yes! Red Rising is on my list to read this month. Maybe we can chat about it and you can perhaps share your thoughts.(I dont always have anyone to share it with) As for lady Midnight,I think I need to read the other books in TMI series so wish me luck.

    Gret TBR, I hope you stick with it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

