Instagram

I joined Instagram YEARS ago, I can’t even remember when for sure. At first it was just my personal page, and around April of 2014 I came across bookstagram, and I haven’t looked back since! I was incredibly active over on Goodreads, and I met some really awesome people and they were into the whole taking pictures of books thing – which to be honest, was so weird to me. I was in READER mode. All I did was read, read, read…who takes the time to take photos of BOOKS….? I remember when that first “so and so tagged you in a photo” notification showed up and I was CREEPED OUT. I literally thought someone had taken a photo OF ME. I was so naive. Now, I am known as the “tag queen” by some people because I have a very special talent of adding as many book tags in each photo as I possibly can. I love it so much. Its a way to be creative, or as creative as I can be….with my gray background and zero add ins of trinkets and candles and whatnot. My photos may be simple and plain, but I think it says a lot about me, and I think it says a lot about how books are my main reason for being there. Don’t get me wrong, I love all the creative photos where people have all these awesomely packed full set ups…but I also think it kind of takes away from the books, and I just choose to go a different route. IG has also let me bring out my photographer side – which I haven’t seen in a long time. At first I used my phone, but my husband bought me a D3400 Nikon for Christmas [2016], and I am so in love with it. I take photos of my son all the time [more on him later], and I have had really good luck with outdoor book photos. Seriously! stick around and I will tell you about my obsession with this tree…. šŸ™‚

Anyway! Where was I? See that is why I need this place. I get off topic, and I feel like IG caters to book PHOTOS….and Goodreads is book specific for the most part review wise….and FB is just…kind of dead, isn’t it? So! I needed a place, and I chose this. I want to talk about books [non spoiler]. I want to talk about my reading goals, and my bookstagram pet peeves and all that awesome stuff. Hopefully this works out!

~Ash

[#2]

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

